Top pupil . . . St Kevin's College dux Holly Malcolm. PHOTO: DANIEL BIRCHFIELD

Not comparing yourself with others is a key to success at any school, St Kevin’s College dux Holly Malcolm says.

The 18-year-old was named dux at the school’s senior prizegiving on Monday.

The accolade came as a shock to Holly, who is also head girl at St Kevin’s.

“I was a bit surprised .. I’ve worked hard this year but I didn’t quite expect it would go this way.

“I think it’s given me something to feel proud of for all of the work I’ve done this year. It’s quite exciting because it’s not something I really saw myself doing.”

As well as being a high academic achiever who gained NCEA level one and two excellence endorsements in 2015 and 2016, Holly is captain of the girls’ First XI football team, treasurer of the school’s Leo club and a member of the school’s justice awareness group.

Next year, Holly plans to study health science at the University of Otago.

“I want to hopefully get into medicine and go into the army as a medical officer. It’s something that excites me quite a lot because I’m able to help people, but at the same time it’s really active.

“It’s an exciting job. It’s not one of those jobs where you go to a clinic for eight hours each day.”

Asked what advice she would give to a pupil who aspired to achieve great things at St Kevin’s, she said to focus on the things they could control.

“Definitely just do it for yourself and don’t compare yourself to others. You’re all on different levels, but as long as you’re doing the best you can, you should be really proud of that.”

Adam Sew Hoy was named proxime accessit.

Other special award recipients included Ella Hitchcock (McKechnie Cup for senior general excellence), Ami Wallis (Altrusa Margaret Crombie Memorial Tertiary Award), Amy Hunter (North Otago Masonic Charitable Trust Scholarship); Jayden Pickworth (Otago Polytechnic Principal’s Leadership Award), Alex Gonzalez, Jacqui Malcolm, Holly Malcolm, Amy Hunter, Ella Hitchcock (University of Otago Leaders of Tomorrow Scholarship), Tivinia Misiloi, Kalas Taukamo, Reuben Mihaere (University of Otago Maori and Pacific Peoples Entrance Scholarship), Kimberley Dyster, Diane Vidallon (University of Otago New Frontiers Excellence Scholarship) and Ami Wallis (Victoria University Excellence Scholarship).

Rebecca Whittet and Joel Pickles have been appointed head pupils for 2018.

Georgia Oakes and Logan Docherty will be deputy head girl and boy. Molly Kay and Eli Winders were named deputy head girl and boy, special character.Running Sneakersjordan Release Dates