Tavendale named to be deputy mayor


‘I’m really excited about what we can achieve’

An announcement of a new deputy mayor and some fresh faces around the Waitaki District Council table were the features of Wednesday’s inaugural meeting of the newly elected council, which will govern the district for the next three years.
Melanie Tavendale, a second­term Oamaru ward councillor, was named deputy mayor by Waitaki Mayor Gary Kircher,a recommendation which received unanimous support from councillors.
She said she looked forward to settling into the role.
‘‘I’m really excited about what we can achieve in the next three years and it’s a privilege to be able to accept the decision.’’ New councillors to sign declarations were Jeremy Holding (Oamaru ward) and Jan Wheeler (Waihemo ward), while Craig Dawson (Ahuriri ward) returns to the council aftera three­year absence. Several former councillors and community board members were honoured for their past service at the meeting. They included Kathy Dennison, a Waihemo ward councillor between 2008 and this year and a Waihemo Community Board member between 1998 and 2008. She was elected to the board for another term this year. Sally Hope (2010­2016) and June Slee (2013­2016) were recognised for their terms on the council, while Geoff Foote (2012­2016) and Jane Carlyon (2013­2016) were congratulated for their time on the Waihemo Community Board.
Former Ahuriri Community Board member Michael Blackstock was recognised for his service between 2007 and 2016.
The new council will meet ina formal capacity for the first time on October 26.
New term . . . Waitaki district councillors (from left) Bill Kingan, Jim Hopkins, Melanie Tavendale, Peter Garvan, Guy Percival, Hugh Perkins, Colin Wollstein, Waitaki Mayor Gary Kircher, Craig Dawson, Jeremyjordan release dateNike