MP supports merger plan


Plans to work towards the amalgamation of six rural fire authorities have been welcomed by Waitaki MP Jacqui Dean.

The proposal could see Otago’s six rural authories, Central District District Council, Clutha District Council, Department of Conservation Otago, Dunedin City Council, Queenstown Lakes District Council and Waitaki District Council, amalgamate to become the Otago Rural Fire Authority.

The new entity would also include the major forestry companies.

Mrs Dean said although she has no preference regarding amalgamation, she considered the proposal to be proactive and positive.


Pick up a copy of the Oamaru Mail for the full story…

We’re currently offering a special subscription offer for website browsers of $4.50 a week for the Oamaru Mail to be home delivered for a minimum of 3 months.

Call Kathy or Diane on 433 0521

Oamaru Mail – Customer Service Team

– New subscriptions – Subscription Payments – Delivery issues – Any other queries relating to your subscription

Tel: 03 433 0521

Phone lines are open 8.30am to 4pm weekdays.Running Sneakers Storesneakers