Busy year, but still time to become school dux


This school year has been a busy one for Sam Roberts – and if you look at his list of extra-curricular activities, it’s easy to see why.
The 17-year-old was named dux at the Waitaki Boys’ High School senior prizegiving last week.
With tongue firmly in cheek, he made sure he mentioned the name of one of his fellow pupils when asked what being named dux meant to him.
“I feel really honoured because I’ve been trying for five years but there’s always this other kid called Gordon Lay who beats me. I feel a bit of sympathy for him because he’s tried really hard this year.
“I feel honoured and humbled to receive it.”
On top of his academic achievements, Sam is a member of the school choir, Leos Club, social committee and Students Against Dangerous Driving group.
He is also an accomplished sportsman, taking his place in the school’s First XI football and hockey teams, senior badminton team and ski team.
All of those commitments combined made for a hectic 2017.
“It’s been very busy, trying to get involved in everything I could. It was hard to keep up academically but every time I felt like giving up, I had to push through. I had my goals set.”
Next year will be a whole new challenge for Sam.
He has opted to study for a bachelor of commerce degree, majoring in economics and marketing, at the University of Otago.
“That’s just really what I’m interested in,” he said.
“In my previous years, I really enjoyed accounting. I got involved with economics this year and it was my favourite subject by quite a long shot.”
Gordon Lay was named proxime accessit to dux.
Jordan McCully was named head boy for 2018, while Jacob Tuisani will be deputy head boy.

Other award recipients include James Scott (sports dux, Elliot Memorial Cup), Glen McLea (Lincoln John Tempero Award), Lance Schaffer (North Otago Masonic Trust Scholarship, Peter Yeoman Cup and scholarship), Alex Hardy (Bluelight Lachlan McLean prize), Joe Martin (Performing Artist of the Year Cup), Gordon Lay (N S Woods prize), Liam Proctor (Peter McHugh Cup), Rhys Petrie (Shrimski Trophy and prize, Otago University New Frontiers Excellence Entrance Scholarship), Henry Bower (Milner Memorial Scholarship, Otago University Leaders of Tomorrow Entrance Scholarship), Sam Roberts (Denis Blundell Award), Jack Fielding, Patrick Ens, Matthew Dennis (Eunice Brown Award), Zachary Watts (Otago University Leaders of Tomorrow Entrance Scholarship), Alexander McCulloch, Patrick Ens (Otago University New Frontiers Excellence Entrance Scholarship), Joshua Thompson-Holloway (top scholar year 11) and Joel Brosnan (top scholar year 12).Adidas shoesArchives des Sneakers