Albion win again


Albion have retained the Borton Cup for a third successive season following a 45-run victory over Union at Milner Park on Saturday.

In a replay of last year’s final, the Mungas reproduced the same outcome to the dismay of the Union faithful.

Albion won the toss and elected to bat first in front of a good crowd at Waitaki Boys’ High School.

Opener Ammer Mirza posted 34 including seven fours before being removed by Brad Fleming.

Ian Cooney could only muster six and Gary Mahuika, who set a record for the highest score from an Albion senior batsman with 172 last weekend, went for 23.

Jeremy Smith steadied the ship with 46 as the cup-holders looked to assert themselves before Albion skipper Peter Cartwright (25) was run out by Jake Greenslade. Brad Kernahan contributed 16 not out.

Matt Day will rue his performance, going for nought from three balls before Nigel Moriarty (49 not out) top-scored to end his side’s innings positively for total of 233/7 from 50 overs.

Paul Johnston (2/25 off 10) was Union’s best with the ball while Matt Lilley took 2/30 off 8.

Union’s chase got off to a poor start, with opener Duncan Drew being bowled by Jeremy Smith for just seven runs, followed by Jake Greenslade (4) and skipper Jeremiah Shields (20), as the top order failed to deliver.

Pedestrian displays from Sean Conlan (5), Paul Johnston (3), Dylan Edwards (7) and Daniel Conlan (12) left the Blues needing an impressive knock to ignite their faltering innings at just 58/7.

Brad Fleming (44 not out) offered the most resistance and Matt Lilley posted 41 before being dismissed by Brad Kernahan. Glynn Cameron, who was suffering from illness, then went for four, and Union were all out for 188 in the 40th over.

The win is Albion’s 19th senior competition title since the club’s inception in 1919 and their fourth in the last decade.

By James Ford

PHOTO: JAMES FORD – Jeremy Smith posted 46 for the Mungas in Saturday’s final victory over Union at Milner Park.Running sportsSneakers