Awards finalists announced


The North Otago Sports Bodies, in conjunction with Sport Waitaki, have announced the finalists of the 2013 Network Waitaki Sports Awards.

Achievements were based on the 2013 calendar year, with winners to be announced at an awards evening at the Oamaru Opera House on March 10.

President of the North Otago Sports Bodies Peter Simpson said he was looking forward to the awards evening, with a variety of talent on show.

“What has impressed me the most about this year’s finalists is the range and variety of sports we have on offer in North Otago, with our athletes gaining great results on the national and international stage,” he said.

Sport Waitaki’s Kate Cartwright said the evening was a great opportunity to acknowledge local athletes, coaches and administrators for their hard work and dedication.

“Through the support of our valued sponsors, we are able to highlight the achievements of a number of individuals involved in sport in the Waitaki region, which is always a positive thing,” she said.

Finalists for the 2013 Network Waitaki Sports Awards:

Sports Central Brewhouse Team of the Year:

North Otago Heartland Rugby Team SKC U16 Girls Rowing Double WBHS 2013 Trafo Trapshooting Team

Redpaths Coach of the Year

Graham Sangster (Bowls) James Robertson (Trapshooting) Mike Mullins (Rugby)

North Otago Motor Group Athlete with a Disability

Ben Johnson (Special Olympics) Emma Paton (Table Tennis) Katrina Hewett (Alpine Skiing)

Sutherlands Men’s and Ladieswear Sportsperson of the Year

Abigail Maynard (Powerlifting) Johannah Kearney (Rowing) Matthew Williamson (Harness Racing)

Hi Flow Plumbing Junior Sportswoman of the Year

Holly Edmondston (Cycling) Isobel Ryan (Swimming) Stacey Kerin (Trampoline)

Milligans Junior Sportsman of the Year

Healey White (Snooker) Joel Meikle (Motorcross) Riley Rooney (Trapshooting)

Recipients of Adair Craik Chartered Accountant Emerging Talent Award, Placemakers Masters Sportsperson of the Year, AON Insurance Denis Birtle’s Memorial Services to Sport Award and the Network Waitaki Supreme Sportsperson of the Year will be announced on the night.


PHOTO: The 2012 winners with special guest Hamish Bond. PHOTO: SPORT WAITAKIBest SneakersGifts for Runners