Fans help North Otago to Victory


North Otago men’s hockey team ended 25 years of hurt by winning the Ian Smith Trophy in Ashburton.

North Otago remained undefeated throughout the round-robin competition with wins over Central Otago 4-1, Invercargill 3-2, Eastern Southland 5-4, Mid Canterbury 4-3 and South Canterbury 2-1 to win the 55-year-old competition, which concluded on Monday.

The North Otago side boasted four high school players with brothers Sean and Connor Daly from St Kevin’s College and Waitaki Boys’ duo Caleb Ludemann and Charlie Bower producing accomplished performances at senior level.

By James Ford

PHOTO: JESSIE GIBB – The triumphant North Otago team with their loyal supporters.

Pick up a copy of the Oamaru Mail for the full story…

New subscriptions – Subscription Payments – Delivery issues – Any other queries relating to your subscription

Tel: 03 433 0521

Phone lines are open 8.30am to 4pm weekdays.Sports brandsNike Air Force 1 High