Local talents set for Otago ties


Jeremy and Nathan Smith have been selected for the Otago Under-19 and Under-17 cricket teams respectively.

Nathan will be taking on the Otago Under-19 Development side on January 8 in a warm-up fixture before competing at the National Under-17 Tournament at Karori Park in Wellington from January 14- 22, the Waitaki Boys’ High School student will be joined by Eastern’s Olliver McLelland.

Jeremy, who learned of his selection on Monday, will be in action at the National Under-19 Tournament in Lincoln on January 13-22.

Under-19s coach Mark Bracewell praised Jeremy’s playing style.

“He’s a good, exciting, fighting kid, I like the way he plays his cricket,” he said.


The Otago team to compete at the National Under 17 Tournament:

Sam Angus, Taine Bayly, Blake Buttar-Scurr,

Dylan Buttar-Scurr, Taylor Cumberland,

Cameron McAuslan, Oliver McLelland, Joel Meade (c), Josh Preston, Nathan Smith, Declan Su’a, Jarryd Taig.

The Otago team to compete at the National Under 19 Tournament:

Rhys Bayly (captain), Felix Page, Liam Cotton, Josh Finnie, Alec Hodgson,

Kadin Brocks, Michael Rae, Taylor Dunn, Nick Cantwell, Jack Hunter, Luke Le Brun Jeremy Smith, Ryan Adam



Sportswear Designnike