Local wins Terra Nova trophy


The Terra Nova trophy was won by Oamaru’s Mike Mitchell in his trailer yacht, Zanzibar, on Sunday.

Mitchell won his section last year but went one better this time around, taking the trophy.

Junior sailors produced fine performances in a tightly contested battle, swapping leads despite a leopard seal distracted one crew in what was an epic effort from all involved.

The catamaran section produced a close battle with Kevin Murdoch and Stu Morrison winning Sunday’s encounter.

Yacht and power boat club vice commodore Kevin Murdoch said the event was a success and will return next year.

“(It’s) great to see a local man Mike Mitchell take out the overall honours,” he said.

“The day went really well, we’ll be holding it again next year.”

Timaru’s Chris Sowerby took out the Keeler section with Graeme Wall of Dunedin finishing the best of the Centreboards while Ethan Wilson and Josh Bryant won the junior section followed closely by Alex Murdoch and Zoe Orme in second place.



 url cloneNike