North Otago prepared for South Canty


North Otago will lock horns with South Canterbury at Aorangi Park in Timaru in this weekend’s Hawke Cup elimination match.

North Otago will be intent on continuing their fine form after downing Southland in a six-run first innings win in their last outing and posting a 65-run win over Otago Country in mid-December.

A strong all-round performance against Southland propelled North Otago to the summit Southern District Hawke Cup points table.

The match was scheduled to to be played at Queen’s Park in Invercargill, but dismal conditions forced the fixture to be moved Milner Park in Oamaru.

With the victory over Southland, North Otago also claimed the Otago Districts Shield after beating both teams in the Otago area and toppling both in the same year for the first time in almost 50 years.

North Otago will be without Nathan Smith and Brady Kingan who will both be in action for Otago under-17 and Jeremy Smith due to Otago under-19 commitments.

Matt Day remains sidelined with a broken finger while medium-pacer Brayden Lindsay is still carrying an ankle injury sustained in training for Oamaru/St Kevin’s in November.

The North Otago Cricket team:
Glynn Cameron (Union), Sean Conlan, (Union), Jeremiah Shields (Union), Duncan Drew (Union), Ben Cant (St. Kevin’s/Oamaru), François Mostert vc (Valley) / Stephan Grobler vc (WBHS), David Sewell (St. Kevin’s/Oamaru), Ricky Whyte (Albion),Lachlan Kingan wkt (Valley), Chris Ware (Union) Jordan Horrell (St.Kevin’s/Oamaru), Manager: Hamish McMurdo, Selectors: Duncan Drew and Hamish McMurdo.Twelfth man to be named on match day.

By James Ford

PHOTO: Oamaru/St Kevin’s Ben Cant in action for North Otago against Southland in December.jordan SneakersNike Air Force 1 High