NO’s Hawke Cup hopes dashed


North Otago’s Hawke Cup hopes were dashed at MainPower Oval in Rangiora on Sunday in a first innings loss to Canterbury Country, which will keep the cup for the winter.

North Otago could not repeat the heroics of the 2010 campaign, when Manawatu was toppled in Palmerston North.

Canterbury Country had relieved Manawatu of the cup a fortnight earlier with a first innings victory.

North Otago had looked defiant in its earlier performances, earning the challenge with a first-innings win over Mid Canterbury, but a disappointing display with the bat allowed the holders to take control.

North Otago won the toss and elected to bat but could only muster a modest 179.

Glynn Cameron was dismissed for one run before Lochlan Kingan (35) and Jeremiah Shields (12) were removed by spinner Jeremy Benton.

The middle order failed to deliver as the wickets of Duncan Drew (7), Ben Cant (8) and Jeremy Smith (2) were taken by Will Williams for little return.

Francois Mostert (62) offered the most resistance in a faltering batting effort before Benton took the South African’s wicket and moped up tailenders Sean Conlan (6) and Nathan Smith (23).

Jordan Horrell (10) was then dismissed by Mitchell Ross.

In reply, Canterbury Country piled on 446.

Country’s innings was dominated by player-coach Shanan Stewart (173). The former Canterbury batsman’s total included 23 fours and a six off 347 balls.

Liam Bartholomeusz (91) and Henry Shipley (56) were in fine form as Country left the challengers little chance of finding a way back into the contest.

Jeremy Smith (3/61 off 23) and Mostert (5 for 95 off 43) was North Otago’s best with the ball.

North Otago was 4 for 114 from 41 overs in its second innings when play ended on Sunday afternoon.

By James Ford

PHOTO: SUPPLIED – North Otago skipper Jordan Horrell in action on day two of the three day match.

 Running sneakersM2k Tekno