Phoenix 7000 draws wide field


Bruce Kelly skipped a composite team to victory at the Oamaru-Phoenix 7000 tournament at the Phoenix Bowling Club at the weekend.
A total of 28 teams of four, including players from as far afield as Kaikoura and Invercargill, competed over three days in ideal conditions.
Seven games of section play were played over the first two days before teams were graded in sections for the final three games, and the finals of all three sections were played on Sunday afternoon in front of a large group of spectators.
Kelly, Rex Carpenter, Dave Smillie and Joyce Smillie beat a Phoenix team skipped by Dan Fletcher and including Simon Wilson, Trevor Wilson and Hugh Catto in the division one final.
A Ray Forbes-skipped team (Phoenix) beat Jim Stenhouse (Papanui) for third place.
Division two was won by the composite team of Greg Smith, Sonny Brown, Phil Hope and Ken Piner, who beat a Sumner team of John Levaal, Ken Thickett, Neville Poole and Gary Marshall. Neville Ludemann’s team from Maheno beat Craig McDonald’s from Awamoa in the third-fourth playoff.
In division three, John Munro (Otematata) beat Bill Johnson (Waimate).

best shoesNike Air Mag Back To The Future Limited Edition Shoes Online Ptf84A, Price: $129.99 – Air Jordan Shoes