Town hosts shield-hungry shooters


Hundreds of keen-eyed shooters left their mark on Oamaru at the weekend.
The annual Andrew and Faulkner Shield competition was hosted by the Target Shooting North Otago Association and attracted 18 teams from throughout the South Island.
The competition started in Oamaru involving shooters from North Otago and Waimate, and was named after two of the organisers.
Initially, the event was between the two districts until other shooters became aware of the competition and asked to join. Christchurch shooters were the first group to join and others followed.
The event alternates each year between venues south of the Waitaki River and north of the Waitaki River.
Competition was fierce in both doubles and singles at the weekend, at the end of which Christchurch was the champion with a total score of 2915.124. Marlborough (2912.128) was second and Ashburton (2910.125) was third.
North Otago finished 11th overall, and fifth in the second division, with a score of 2869.107. The home team consisted of Karl Valpy, Murray Reeves, Robbie Gilchrist, John Hamilton, Adrianne Sherwin, Lindsay Smith, Stephen Strachan, Alistair Smith, Malcolm Garland, Geoff Hawtin, Greg McFarlane
and Shane Grant.
Sherwin was fifth in the individual standings with a combined score of 296.15.
North Otago finished fifth in the junior section with a score of 1373.027. The team consisted of Georgia Malcolm, Robbie Kinnard, Matt Parsons, James Kinsman, Jarvis Cross and Jordan Mulligan.
North Otago man Reg Partridge has been made a life member of the Otago Provincial Smallbore Association.
He served as the association’s secretary-treasurer for about 13 years, and contributed a great deal to coaching and encouraging younger shooters in the district.
Mr Partridge was part of the group that restarted shooting club nights at the “Tin Shed” at the Enfield Domain.Running sportsNike Air Mag Back To The Future Limited Edition Shoes Online Ptf84A, Price: $129.99 – Air Jordan Shoes