Oarsome pair . . . Waitaki Boys' pupil James Scott with fellow rower Veronica Wall, from Ashburton College. PHOTO: BRAD REEVE

Oamaru pupils featured prominently at the Aoraki secondary schools sports awards in Timaru last Friday night.

No fewer than 23 local youngsters claimed category wins at the annual awards, which cover the entire region from Ashburton to Oamaru.

Touched by glory .. Touch stars Jasmine Hunter (Waitaki Girls’ High School) and Logan Wilson (Waitaki Boys’ High School) at the Aoraki secondary schools sports awards in Timaru on Friday. PHOTO: BRAD REEVE

Waitaki Boys’ High School led the way with a remarkable 16 category winners.

Among the champions were outstanding sprinter Schuyler Orr (athletics), New Zealand champion James Scott (rowing), rising stars Mason James (cricket) and Logan Wilson (touch), and national representative Joshua Eastwood (softball).

Other category winners from Waitaki Boys’ were Blake Wilson (badminton), Izaak Tauwhare (darts), Jacob Takuira-Mita (fencing), Jack Price (bowls), Blain Hamilton (motocross), Ethan Wilson (sailing), Robbie Kinnaird (smallbore shooting), Connor Bolitho (squash), Luke Paisley (trap shooting), Stuart Beattie (western riding) and Elizabeth Prentice (staff contribution).

Netball superstar Taneisha Fifita and rugby prodigy Cheyenne Cunningham were among the category winners from Waitaki Girls’ High School.


Other Waitaki Girls’ winners were Kayla Sutherland (badminton) and Jasmine Hunter (touch).

Cricket tyro Amber Cunningham and swimming champion Tiana Mansfield headlined the St Kevin’s College winners.

The school’s other winners were Anna Craig (trap shooting) and Georgia Vickers (student contribution).

Oamaru pupils were also among those receiving honours for being selected in a New Zealand team or placing in the top three at a national event.

Waitaki Boys’ pupils Orr, Scott, Eastwood, Beattie, Nale Fifita (basketball), Scott Kitto (basketball referee) and Micah Hayes (swimming), Waitaki Girls’ pupils Fifita, Hunter and Alice Petrie (swimming), and St Kevin’s pupils Craig, Brylee More (touch), Polly Harper (equestrian) and Iessha Mansfield (swimming) were recognised.


Tiana Mansfield. PHOTO: SUPPLIED
Adidas footwearSneakers